CPUT’s Virtual Open Day is now open! Click here to visit >>>

Changes in Higher Education Qualifications in the Faculty of Business and Management Sciences

Government has introduced a single unified national qualification framework for education in South Africa that applies to all Higher Education institutions and improves the ability of students to move easily and more effectively from one qualification to the next, as well as between institutions.

These changes are guided by the Revised Higher Education Qualifications Sub-Framework (HEQSF) as published in the Government Gazette (No. 40123, Vol. 1636, July 2016). As a result, all public and private higher education institutions in the country, including Universities of Technology, were required to revise and align existing qualifications or develop new qualifications that meet the requirements of the new sub-framework. (SATN:2017)

The most notable change in this regard is the withdrawal of the BTech qualification, as from the end of 2019. As from 2020, Diplomas will articulate to 2 one-year qualifications - the Advanced Diploma and the Postgraduate Diploma – in preparation for scholarly engagement at professional Masters and Doctoral levels. The faculty is proud and excited to offer these state-of-the-art programmes that are designed to address the demands of a rapidly changing world of work.

The faculty is in the process of phasing out non-HEQSF aligned qualifications; view the last date for these enrolments here.

See the below links for departmental phasing-out information:

Click on the tab Diplomas and Degrees to acquaint yourself with the variety of qualifications (study areas in Business and Management Sciences) that are available to you.

If a qualification that you would like to study does not appear, then please check the website regularly for additional approved qualifications, or contact the relevant academic department for more information.