WILAfrica Conference SASCE in partnership with CPUT will be hosting the WILAfrica conference. Click here for more details >>>

Institutional Forum

The Institutional Forum (IF) is a statutory body, established in terms of the Higher Education Act of 1997 and Section 40 of the CPUT Statute. The IF is elected from a broad range of stakeholders, and includes representatives from inter alia Senate, Executive Management, external councillors, academic and non-academic staff, unions and students.

Roles and responsibilities

The function of the IF is to deliberate and advise Council on a wide range of issues affecting the institution. The Higher Education Act specifically notes as part of the IF’s brief:

  • national policy
  • race and gender equity policies
  • selection of candidates for senior management positions
  • codes of conduct and procedures for dispute resolution
  • fostering an institutional culture of respect and tolerance
  • the implementation of the Higher Education Act and national policy on higher education
  • other functions as may be delegated or assigned to it by council

Institutional Forum members

Constituency

No. of Incuments

Name

Email Address

Vice-Chancellor or her/his nominated Deputy Vice-Chancellor

1

Prof. G. Mayende

MayendeG@cput.ac.za

Deputy Vice-Chancellor

1

Dr D. Phaho

PhahoD@cput.ac.za

The Registrar

1

Mr S. Mokoena

MokoenaSE@cput.ac.za

Member of the Council who is not an Employee or Student of the University

1

Ms N. Dondashe

Nomveliso@icloud.com

Members from the Management

2

Prof. T. Ngqondi
Prof Hay-Swemmer

NgqondiT@cput.ac.za
HayH@cput.ac.za

Member of the Senate

1

Mr. S. Khangala

NaickerV@cput.c.za

Members representing the Academic Employees

2

Prof Aziz

AzizM@cput.ac.za

Members representing the Non-Academic Employees, who may or may not be members of recognised labour unions or Non-Academic Employee associations at the University;

2

Mr D. Nel
Mr C. Matasane

NelD@cput.ac.za
MatasaneC@cput.ac.za

Members from each internally recognised labour organisation

2 x 4

NEHAWU:

Mr A. Moses
Mr M. Biyana

NTEU:

Dr I. John

CPUEU:

Mr J. Basson

NIWU:

Mr Thembelani Mabandla
Mr Kwanele Fengane

 

 

MosesA@cput.ac.za
BiyanaM@cput.ac.za

 

JohnI@cput.ac.za

 

BassonJ@cput.ac.za

 

MabandaT@cput.ac.za
FenganeK@cput.ac.za

 

Students designated by the SRC annually

1

Ms L. Ndongeni

Csrc-dpresident@cput.ac.za

Member of the Student Services Council

1

Mr T. Zondi

Csrc-sec-gen@cput.ac.za

Member appointed by the Convocation

1

Mr M. Sityoshwana

Malwande.Sityoshwana@capetown.gov.za

An employee responsible for transformation, diversity and social cohesion

1

Ms K. Marala

MaralaK@cput.ac.za

1 or more members co-opted by the Institutional Forum for the specific purpose of assisting the Institutional Forum in respect of any area of expertise, from time to time.

 

 

 

Institutional Forum Code of Conduct

The IF at CPUT grew out of the old Transformation Forums. While it is now a statutory body, it still retains much of its earlier culture and traditions. The IF

  • provides a Forum to a very wide range of stakeholders — probably more so than any other single entity in the University,
  • strives to provide a non-threatening environment where all members of the CPUT community and its stakeholders can freely express their opinions,
  • values the opinions of all members, and places a premium on honest and open contributions,
  • has a tradition of open and robust debate,
  • operates in a spirit of collegial respect for the viewpoints of other members, and
  • values professionalism.

The IF has always strived for consensus rather than winner-takes-all democracy in formulating its position and consequent advice to Council. It is very rare for votes to be taken at IF meetings.

In order to promote an environment wherein debate can be robust yet respectful and considerate yet productive, the IF will:

  • make its minutes (once ratified) available to anybody who wishes to see them,
  • treat the detail of discussions as privileged and count on members to respect that,
  • welcome visitors and observers to its meetings (excepting the rare meetings that need to be confidential for good reason), and
  • count on members to arrive at meetings prepared and — having previously consulted with their constituencies and stakeholders — with required mandates.