WILAfrica Conference SASCE in partnership with CPUT will be hosting the WILAfrica conference. Click here for more details >>>


The Council is the governing body of the University and is constituted of members appointed by the Minister of Education as well as representatives from the following bodies:

  • Senate
  • SRC
  • Academic and non-academic staff
  • The Convocation

Roles and responsibilities

The Council's responsibilities are subject to the Higher Education Act of 1997 and the CPUT Statute of May 2010.

The Council

  • Makes Rules for the institution,
  • Establishes Council committees and determines the functions and composition of each committee,
  • Establishes, in consultation with the senate, joint committees of the council and the senate to perform functions which are common to the council and senate,
  • Appoints all employees of the institution, but in the case of academic appointments, it may do so after consulting senate,
  • Determines the student admission policy of the institution, after consultation with the senate,
  • Determines, with the approval of the senate, the entrance requirements in respect of particular higher education programmes, the number of students who may be admitted for a particular higher education programme and the manner of their selection, and the minimum requirements for readmission to study at the institution,
  • May, with the approval of the senate, refuse readmission to a student who fails to satisfy the minimum requirements for readmission, and
  • Determines and provides student support services after consultation with the SRC.

(Source: CPUT Statute: Government Gazette, No. 33202. Republic of South Africa)

Council members


Platzky, Laurine (Dr) PhD (ISS, Erasmus University)


Deputy Chairperson

Gumbi, Dumisani (Mr) LLM (UCT)

Manager: Group IT Governance and Compliance - Sanlam Ltd.

Ministerial Appointees

Platzky, Laurine (Dr) PhD (ISS, Erasmus University)


Dondashe, Nomveliso (Ms) B.Com Honours (Industrial Psychology) (UWC)

HR Operations Manager: Eskom Holdings SOC Ltd

Maharaj, Suren (Mr) CA (SA), MBA (Regenesys Business School)

Managing Director: SM Consulting

Faku, Sindile (Mr) MSc ((Jackson State University)

Managing Director: Dakhile Property & Construction Investments

Mapena, William Lekgoa (Dr) PhD (UP), MPA (UP)

Non-Executive Director & Chairperson: Umngeni Water

Convocation Representatives

Socikwa, Lwandile (Mr) MBA (NMU) BTech: Project Management (CPUT)

Convocation President (Founder & Managing Director at Socikwa Management Pty. Ltd)



Council Appointees

Groenewald, Liezl (Dr) MA (Wits) PhD (Stellenbosch University)

CEO: The Ethics Institute

Matiwane, Saziso (Mr) BPAHons (MANCOSA) MBA (UNISA)

Regulatory Compliance Auditor Western Cape Gambling and Racing Board

Vabaza, Ayanda (Ms) CA (SA)

Director: Kwandiso Consulting

Gumbi, Dumisani (Mr) LLM (UCT)

Manager: Group IT Governance and Compliance - Sanlam Ltd.

City of Cape Town Appointee


Chamber of Commerce Industry Appointee

Cullinan, Patrick Matthew (Mr) MCRP (UCT)

CEO: Atlantis Special Economic Zone

Provincial Government Appointee

Schreuder, Brian Kenneth (Mr) M.Ed (Stellenbosch University)

 Retired Educationalist

Organised Labour Organisation in RSA Representative

Fisa, Sonwabile (Mr), MBA (University of Stellenbosch)

Maintenance Manager: Eskom

Executive Management

Nhlapo, Chris (Prof) PhD (Potchefstroom University)


Balkaran, Rishidaw (Prof) PhD

Deputy Vice-Chancellor: Teaching and Learning

Senate Representatives

Raji, Atanda Kamoru (A/Prof) PhD

Associate Professor: CPUT Faculty of Engineering

Prof Paul Green (PhD)

Dean Faculty of Business and Management Sciences

Academic Representative

Krishnamurthy, Senthil (APROF) PhD

Associate Professor: Faculty of Engineering and Built in Environment, CPUT

Non-academic Representatives

Mashwanyela, Chumani (Mr) MTech (CPUT)

Residence Coordinator: CPUT

Student Representatives

Notshikila, Sinelizwi (Ms)

CSRC: President

Mngqundaniso, Luthando (Mr)

CSRC: General Secretary